Feast of the Sacrifice’s Eve (Kurban Bayramı Arifesi)

My time is trickling down in Turkey and although it’s heartbreaking to leave, I look forward to the future. I ‘ve made some lifetime friends that have shared their lives and extended their hospitality. I will take away the warm hearts and sincere welcome I received while living here. For those who know me, you know that I have a passion for food. Every place I go I base a lot on the cuisine and atmosphere. I decided from the first day I started writing that I would save the best for last.

Turkey is a culture that can live off the earth, and because of the geographical location they have an advantage many other countries do not have. The ability to plant, grow and harvest many times throughout the year provides fresh produce to the Turkish communities and restaurants. The soil is so rich that you can taste the freshness in every bite and appreciate the hard work and dedication of those who cultivate the fields every day.

I spent time with a good friend whose family open their home to me. They sacrificed a sheep in the spirit of the Turksh holiday bayrami. http://www.wittistanbul.com/magazine/kurban-bayrami-or-the-feast-of-the-sacrifice-in-a-nutshell/
I enjoyed spending time with friends, going to other homes to celebrate this holiday and gaining an experiance for the memory books.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Categories: Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

